Time Really Does Get Away From You, Huh?

Well, this post is LONG overdue, to say the least. I have thought of writing it so many times, but chosen to take a quick cat nap or try and squeeze in a few household chores instead. It really is amazing how quickly laundry can pile up on you and dog hair can collect in the craziest places.

We are all doing great these days. Dylan is ONE MONTH old today. Seriously!? He is gaining weight like a little champ. The theme seems to be, “He’s going to be a big boy!” At our one-month check-up the other day he weighed 10 lb. 13.5 oz, a big jump from his 7 lb. 12 oz. birth weight. He’s long, too, with super-long fingers and toes and ginormous feet. He’s wearing mostly 3-6 month clothes already! So far, though, there was only one outfit I didn’t get him in to before he outgrew it.

I am feeling at least mostly back to my old self. I was feeling GREAT after delivery, but have gone through my share of post-pregnancy struggles. I hate complaining, they just hit me from out of nowhere, and apparently I skipped over those parts of the pregnancy books. I wasn’t prepared at all for what my body went through. I had bathroom issues, baby blues, and mastitis – all of course while existing on lack of sleep. I know every other mother in the world went through those and worse, but expectant moms be prepared! It’s already all over, though, and I am already forgetting how horrible I thought it was.

Josh continues to LOVE his job, even in this crazy holiday season. He is napping on the sofa next to me after going in at 4:00 this morning for Black Friday. He is the best dad Dylan could ever ask for, as well as the most amazing helper I could have imagined. I am so grateful for a husband who pitches in so much. Dylan is absolutely captivated by him and flashes huge smiles every time he’s around. And I’m not AT ALL bitter about that. 🙂

I will post pictures soon. Someday.

2 Responses to “Time Really Does Get Away From You, Huh?”

  1. Julie Says:

    Glad to hear everything is going so well! I hear ya on the post pregnancy struggles… I not only got mastitis but a horrible yeast infection from the antibiotics they put me on. I wanted every female part of my body removed! (Sorry if any guys read your blog comments…)

    I can’t believe he’s so big! Amelia’s four months old and still wearing 0-3 month clothes! That’s really impressive for a breast-fed baby too! Way to go!

  2. Troye Says:

    So sweet!!!! I can’t believe that it has already been a month. I can’t wait to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

