Homemade Blueberry Scones

There are a few things in my life I am a complete on-again, off-again gal about. I get super passionate, then bail within a moment’s notice. The ones I most recognize are, blogging (no comments, please), exercise/diet, and cooking. Sometimes I am on a homemade kick where I want everything to be homemade. I always have my nose in cookbooks. Then, all of a sudden, the thought of cooking makes me want to slit my wrists. It’s all I can do some nights to brown some ground beef so we can have tacos.

I’m on a cooking kick right now, but we’ll see how long it lasts. My guess is this is part of nesting manifesting itself in my life, and that I won’t have time to even brown meat in about 5 weeks. We’ll see, though.

So, tonight I did my best Pioneer Woman impression and photographed myself making homemade blueberry scones. The photos aren’t the greatest because all I could think was “Josh was seriously divorce me if I mess up my camera while trying to take pictures with flour all over my hands.” Here’s to hoping these are as good as the ones I crave from Starbuck’s …

First of all, I improvised. This recipe was for plain scones, but I am a big fan of blueberry ones. I, however, could not find the smaller blueberries. Any suggestions? So, I started by slicing up some bigger blueberries …

Second, I cut some butter in to chunks then put it back in the fridge to chill for a bit …

Then, I mixed all of my dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt) in a large mixing bowl …

After “cutting in” the butter to make the flour mixture more like cornmeal, I mixed in the heavy cream to form a dough …

Then mixed in my package of blueberries …

And balled the dough, wrapped it in plastic and let it rest in the fridge for about half an hour…

Then I made my egg wash …

Then got the dough out of the fridge, split it in to two equal parts, and formed it in two two thick circles.

After cutting the two circles in to 8 equal sections, I placed them on a greased baking sheet, brushed them with the egg wash, and sprinkled them with sugar.

After baking at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes, they were ready to be enjoyed!

They weren’t exactly Starbuck’s good, but I will figure it out. I think it had something to do with me not cutting in butter quite right. They just needed a little more flavor. Maybe more blueberries, or at least smalled ones so they would have been more evenly distributed. I still feel like I accomplished something today other than laying in the bed. That’s good enough for me!

Here’s the recipe:

4 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/3 c. sugar

Pinch Salt

2 sticks butter, cut in to chunks and chilled

2 c. heavy cream

1 large egg

1.4 c. milk

Combine all dry ingredients (flour through salt) in a large mixing bowl. Cut butter in to the flour mixture using either two knives, a fork, or your fingertips. A food processor may also be used. Mix in the cream with a fork, adding just a drop more if the dough feels too dry.

Now is where you can either just go with the plain dough, or add your mix-ins. I used blueberries. May I also suggest chocolate chips. Or I may try some cranberry and orange next time. Who knows.

Ball the dough, wrap it in plastic, and let it rest in the fridge for about 30 min.

Divide dough in two equal portions. Pat each potion in to a circle about 8 inches in diameter and 3/4 inch thick. Cut each section in 8 equal wedges (slices).

Mix the egg and milk in a small bowl, and brush on top of the slices, placed on a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 375 for about 15 min, or until golden brown.

One Response to “Homemade Blueberry Scones”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Hey! I have found that when I make blueberry muffins using canned blueberries is cheaper and they are softer than fresh. I like fresh but the canned ones appeal to more people. Just a thought!

Leave a Reply

