Emotions

Well, it’s safe to say I’m an emotional roller-coaster these days. Most of what I’m feeling I expected, so I don’t feel like it’s coming out of nowhere, but I find myself wondering how in the world I make it from one extreme to the other so quickly.

First of all, and probably most intensely, I feel an overwhelming connection to Josh. I get emotional just thinking about how much I feel “one” with him right now. It’s like my love for him has reached a whole new level. Many people told me to expect this, but it is so intense! I just want to be attached to him all the time right now! I guess I always border a bit on the clingy side, but man, I could just curl up in his armpit all day long.

I’m feeling very scared about having a child. I have often asked Josh, “What were we thinking? We’re not ready for this!!!” He, however, is surprisingly calm. He has been very ready for the last few weeks, always reassuring me that we are, in fact, ready for this challenge. Or, he’s doing a great job at lying to me.

Things that normally wouldn’t make me mad or get on my nerves are all of a sudden killing me! Bad drivers, impolite mall walkers, and bad phone talkers top my list of annoyances right now.

I feel like a different person, but I guess it’s all a part of becoming a mother!

I write this post as I reflect back on an amazing two days with my rock star husband and some of our closest friends. Yesterday we had lunch with some friends on the patio since the weather is awesome! Then, I came home and took a nap and we went to karaoke night that ended in an intense emotional conversation where we bonded even closer with some of Josh’s awesome Apple co-workers. We slept in this morning (including snoring Jack) and had lunch together at home. Then we headed to Athens, first stopping at Ashley and Ian’s apartment. They just make my heart happy. They were already that old married couple putting puzzles together! Then, we walked around downtown for a while, picking up 4 vinyl albums for Josh’s new record player, which we put in Dylan’s room so he can go to sleep to music. We had dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, The Last Resort, and ended the meal with a Pumpkin Spice frappucino. Yum! Now, we’re watching the Georgia and Auburn games cuddled up on the sofa. It just doesn’t get any better than this.

Leave a Reply

